Before drifting off to sleep one night last month, the idea for a new novel came to me. In my head, I played the first chapter and the beginning of the second chapter like a movie.

 

I was so tired I could not move to turn on the light and write down my thoughts. No matter, I thought, I will remember everything and put it to paper in the morning. This is so interesting and new, how could I forget?

 

Yes, how could I forget? Very, very easily. When I woke the next morning, only fragments of the novel were floating around the bubble of my memory.

 

Did I learn my lesson? Maybe. I thought I would recall, in detail, everything. I was so wrong. It’s funny how your mind can trick you. My sleepy brain was saying, “No, you don’t have to move. I’ll keep it all in here for you. Just go to sleep.”

 

Next time this happens, I hope I can goose myself hard enough to get out of bed. Next time, I won’t listen to a sleepy brain.

 

How do you deal with ideas, solutions, grocery lists, etc.,  you have right before sleep?

 

 

